And then you turn Fifteen…

Dear A,

You turned fifteen yesterday. Can you believe that ? I can’t believe it.

Thanks to your exams and the hectic schedule that it brings along with it, I couldn’t publish this post yesterday. But I don’t want to procrastinate this anymore. So here it is.

Yesterday evening, when I asked you what I shall cook for you for the dinner, you ruled out Pasta saying Nanamma and Thatha wouldn’t eat it, you ruled out getting rotis from outside saying Nana wouldn’t like them much and settled in on the option of vegetable rice although it isn’t your top most favourite. You prioritise family and their happiness although you don’t express it much. Be it feeding me while I’m cooking, be it choosing what to cook or order keeping in consideration the food restrictions suggested by our Homeo doctor for anyone in the family, be it defending your father from everyone or be it surprising your Atta or Thatha, or be it caring for Ammamma or Thatha or be it making something for Mama or Atta, you are always the first. The way you think about everyone around you is prominent. I see you helping your friends with lots of patience and with no boundaries. You do not hesitate to put in that extra effort to make someone feel better.

Love, care for and help others the way you have been doing. Keep that purity in tact and let that not get affected with time and age. As I keep saying, “What goes around comes around “

We have had many debates and heated arguments and differences in opinions in the past and are still having them. But you value my opinion and try to think and understand my perspective. I am truly and immensely grateful for that.

You are fortunate to be blessed with so many well wishers in the form of family, extended family, teachers, near and dear ones. Give utmost value to what they say and always stay humble. Be grateful for each blessing.

Today , in a casual conversation , you mentioned that you would become a major in three years. When did my little girl, who was so scared to go to play school or who was so scared to cross a road become so big ? While I miss all the funny sweet little things that we used to do when you were very young, I appreciate the heart felt conversations that I am able to make with you, like I make with an adult.

How much ever you grow big, let the child in you be ever active and enjoy all the little pleasures. Experience bliss, keep the smile on your face and the joy in your heart forever.

Chase your dreams, fly high, stay grounded, love all, spread kindness, smile often, read more, travel unlimited, explore life, treasure friendship, help many, respect everyone, stay healthy, stay happy, stay blessed !!!

Happy Fifteen my dear !!! God Bless You !!!

8 thoughts on “And then you turn Fifteen…

Leave a comment